Career Decisions

First year and I want out...

>

JIC

JIC

First year and I want out...
Old 01-16-2017, 09:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm in my first year of teaching first grade ESL (with a probationary certificate through an alternative teaching program, and with no prior teaching experience), and I want out! I've heard many times that the first year is the hardest, but my experience thus far has been so bad (from tension within the team, no support from my mentor, students' behavioral issues, parents, observations, etc.), that I literally cry and contemplate quitting EVERYDAY. My students' academic performance is below level and although many have ADHD and/or a language barrier (most only speak Spanish or have Spanish only speaking parents), I blame myself and lack of experience for their performance. I can't sleep at night and dread going to work every morning. It's affecting my health and relationships at home. I feel guilty that I spent most of my day and after school focusing on other children's education that I don't have time for my own children at home. I try to think positive but want to give up. I don't even know how I can continue the rest of the school year. I'm unhappy, stressed, unmotivated and drained...

substeph

I'm also in my
Old 01-20-2017, 04:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

first year of teaching but luckily its a split up position at different schools so luckily I don't have the stress of lesson plans and parents. But, I have horrendous behavioral issues being in a public urban district. I'm exhausted, stressed and drained. Absolutely depleted of all energy. I left a comfy office job to try and do something with my teaching degree. Kind of regretting it but going to see if I can find a better position for next school year.
BTW you may want to move this thread to "THE VENT" section you will get a lot more feedback and advice. Best of luck to you.
substeph is offline   Reply With Quote
JIC

JIC

Thanks
Old 01-24-2017, 05:08 PM