New Teachers

First year and I want out...

>

JIC

JIC

First year and I want out...
Old 01-17-2017, 03:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm in my first year of teaching first grade (with a probationary certificate through an alternative teaching program, and with no prior teaching experience), and I want out! I've heard many times that the first year is the hardest, but my experience thus far has been so bad (from tension with the team, no support from my mentor, and behavioral issues with students, parents, etc.), that I literally cry and contemplate qutting everyday. My students' academic performance is below level and although many have ADHD, and a language barrier (most have only Spanish speaking parents), I blame myself for their performance. I can't sleep at night and dread going to work every morning. It's affecting my health and the relationship with my husband and kids. I'm under contract and I honestly don't care anymore what the consequences are if I leave. I try to think positive, but I'm unhappy, unmotivated, and drained...

lisa53

Old 01-18-2017, 04:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

(((Honey)))...first year of teaching is very challenging for everyone, but you had a bad start, coming in to the classroom without proper preparation for the job. I can't imagine trying to teach first grade without quite a bit of specific training (and I taught high school for 40 years). You need some real help!

If I were in your shoes, I would schedule some time to talk to mentor or supervisor, and unburden myself. They might agree that you are not properly prepared for your job. Ultimately, this could lead to being nonrenewed...but that is no worse than quitting. Ask what trainings are available to help you become more effective.