Help

Classroom Management

Class management without searing chart

>

ICGr4

Class management without searing chart
Old 01-25-2017, 07:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! I am a retired teacher after 30 years of teaching intermediate as well as my last five in grade 2. This probably should be on the sub board but I feel that I might get better advice here.

I sub at one small Catholic school. i admit that I have difficulty remembering student names. The last 8 to 10 years full-time teaching I would get student photos from the year before and then memorize the student's name from the photo before school began. I think it's an aging thing. I will remember everything else about them.

None of the teachers have ever given me a seating chart. I always had three magnetic seating charts – one for my homeroom group, one for my reading group, and another for math group. So I don't quite understand this.

If I have a seating chart, I feel that it gives me the control to teach the classroom. Knowing their names if they are off task helps immensely. Even if their name is on their desk time off it's not always helpful if I am at another position of the room.

My classroom management was always very good because I modeled at the beginning of the year and had clear set consequences. As a sub, I feel like it's more babysitting. I even had the first grade teacher leave me the seat work for all day because she did not need the grades. I really feel that I'm more qualified to actually teach and have utilized the SmartBoard more than some of the classroom teachers. Because I'm not the regular teacher, students are calling out, not listening, unfocused, etc.

Also, other than the gym teacher who is amazing, the teachers do not have a sub folder where they list classroom expectations, rules, helpful students, etc.
I don't want to stand uncooperative students to the principal.

I would appreciate any advice.

ICGr4 is offline   Reply With Quote

ICGr4

Old 01-25-2017, 07:11 PM