Help

Career Decisions

Ready to throw in the towel

>

missthird

Ready to throw in the towel
Old 02-08-2017, 12:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm in my second year of teaching 3rd grade and I am ready to throw in the towel. There is too much pressure from the state. I feel like I'm teaching these kids how to pass a test, and they are not actually learning anything. I cry...A LOT (on the way home). I dread going to work. I LOVE my kids and I love kids in general, but I am thinking my patience is not set up for this particular career. I know a lot of my problem is the district in which I work. I have put in applications in other places. I REALLY want to go back to school, but it is not a feasible option for me at this point.
I have considered moving to a lower grade, but the thought of signing a contract I can't get out of (in case it still doesn't work) makes me sick. Does anyone have any ideas on other career options I can look into with my elementary ed degree? Or maybe even jobs for schools that aren't a classroom teacher but still involved with a school? Any help would be appreciated!

missthird is offline   Reply With Quote

guest 2000

guest 2000

I understand
Old 02-09-2017, 09:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Totally feel you there. (See my post about breaking contract mid year for another job) I am so over teaching, this job is not a job, its more like a lifestyle! The responsibilities are taking over my life so I am currently waiting to see if I am going to get this job at a bank, and if so, BYE teaching!