Career Decisions

Sped or Gen Ed?

>

firstyearwoes

Sped or Gen Ed?
Old 02-08-2017, 08:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone,

I am a first year teacher and I am certified in Gen. Ed and Sped. I am currently teaching 5th grade gen. ed. I would describe my first year as challenging. There are a lot ups and downs, days I didn't think I would get through, and days that I just want to scream or cry. Point is, I really want to find my place within the teaching profession. I student taught in second grade and I enjoyed that. I've worked with smaller groups in Sped and I enjoyed that as well. I want to ask anyone that has made the switch between gen. ed to sped or vice versa. Which did you enjoy more? They both present challenges, but I want to be able enjoy being a teacher. I just know that maybe it's my district, the grade, or a bad first year experience that has made me not enjoy teaching as much. Any advice or experience stories would be appreciated.

Thank you!

firstyearwoes is offline   Reply With Quote

mauiwow

Gen ed.
Old 02-11-2017, 01:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Personally I think it takes a great deal of patience to work with sped group. You gotta really know how to get though with the students. Each has its own challenges but I prefer gen. ed. But then again I do not teach in elementary school so it may depend on what grade level you teach as well.
mauiwow is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 02-11-2017, 02:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3