Help

Future Teachers

Future Teacher Classroom

>

SUteacher2

Future Teacher Classroom
Old 02-09-2017, 03:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a student-teacher and I am wondering what are 3 classroom management skills that work for most classrooms? I'm struggling to get the students to focus.

SUteacher2 is offline   Reply With Quote

mauiwow

Top 3
Old 02-10-2017, 05:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

1. Structured time. Give students time limits and constraints. That is key to reeling them in.
2. Student accountability. What work do you expect students to produce? I find that lecturing/explaining more that 10-15 min you will lose them
3. What tasks are provided? Are they working in pairs. groups, whole class? Provide more mini activities allowing students to brainstorm/generate ideas.
mauiwow is offline   Reply With Quote

kerteach2

management
Old 02-11-2017, 11:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have to say that management does need to be tweaked for each class I have. I have strong rules that they all understand and they understand the consequences.
I have my students sitting at their own desks but in tables of 4 or 5. Each table can earn points or lose points - the point system works really well. At the end of the day we add them up and keep track for a month of how many points each table has - the winning students get a ticket for our school's store.
The children have learned to monitor each others behavior - we model it so we do it kindly and quietly - to help keep each other on task.
kerteach2 is offline   Reply With Quote

SUteach13

3 main classroom management strategies
Old 02-13-2017, 03:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Ticket system- This is a great way for the students to act more positive in the classroom if they know they can be rewarded which will cause them to focus more.