Future Teachers

Confidence

>

Tinks08

Confidence
Old 02-14-2017, 02:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi Everyone,
As a student teacher, I still find myself becoming nervous in front of my classes. I have made relationships with the different classes and students individually. However I'm still nervous when teaching. Any helpful tips??

Tinks08 is offline   Reply With Quote

mrsd5

What I was told a lifetime ago
Old 02-14-2017, 03:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Fake it until you make it. Take a deep breath and, even if you are shaking inside, stand tall and act confident. I did that as an experienced ELA teacher the first time I had one section of American History added to my ELA duties. And I was honest. I told my students (8th graders) that I was endorsed and highly qualified to teach American history, but that I would be relearning things while they were learning the first time. Inside, I was shaking. Outside, though, I was calm and confident. Took me a couple of months of hard work, lots of prep, and talking to myself to really believe what I told them, though. And I was nearly 50 years old at the time! Good luck. Be prepared and put on an Oscar worthy performance. After awhile, it will feel natural. I promise!
mrsd5 is offline   Reply With Quote

PeaceLoveRun

Just remember
Old 02-14-2017, 08:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

They're kids. They're going to either think you look goofy anyway, or think you're amazing anyway. So roll with it, lol. It will come in time. Now I can do anything in front of an entirely filled classroom, but put me in front of 2 adults and I freeze!
PeaceLoveRun is offline   Reply With Quote

Tinks08

Old 02-21-2017, 02:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Thank you so much for your feedback! I just need to breathe! I find myself becoming nervous in front of my mentor teacher as well. Any suggestions for staying calm while being observed?
Tinks08 is offline   Reply With Quote

educreate

Practice!
Old 02-21-2017, 02:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5