Help

Future Teachers

Overwhelmed as a Student Teacher

>

MoonChild2308

Overwhelmed as a Student Teacher
Old 03-10-2017, 03:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi there! This semester I am finally graduating from college (I have a bachelor's in Literature and I'm graduating this May with my master's in Secondary Education) and this semester is also when I am doing my student teaching. I am about halfway through and I was hoping to get the hang of all the work that there is to be done but I'm feeling very stressed and very overwhelmed and so I was hoping to find some tips on managing the workload or just some advice on getting through it.

I teach at a high school and my cooperating teacher and I have three sections of sophomores (all three of those are mainly special education based where most, if not all, of the students' have 504s or IEPs), one freshman class (which is considered academic or college prep level and very few of the students have 504 plans), and a creative writing class that is grades 9-12. So there are three classes to prep, but it really feels like 4 because one of our sophomore classes is made up of 6 students who are extremely low leveled and are very disruptive.