Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

Teacher Positions

>

LoveTeachBaby

Teacher Positions
Old 03-24-2017, 02:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,

I am a new lead teacher and I have 2 assistants under me. I am wondering what everyone's experience is. I am specifically I am wondering what each position entails- assistant and lead teacher.

Thanks!

LoveTeachBaby is offline   Reply With Quote

Prekteach13

Prekteach13

Old 03-24-2017, 04:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Can you explain more what you are looking for? I'm a lead teacher in a public preschool classroom and I have 2 assistants.

LoveTeachBaby

Old 03-25-2017, 06:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am specifically wondering how you split the work between yourself and your assistants.
LoveTeachBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Prekteach13

Prekteach13

Old 03-27-2017, 04:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I think it depends on many factors, including the type of classroom you have and how experienced your assistants are.

My classroom is a special education preschool classroom. My paras work mainly 1:1 with students, running work systems/visual schedules/behavior systems, and helping with the general flow of the day. While I'm teaching large group, 1 assistant is usually on the carpet with students who need help, and 1 is getting our meals ready. We all assist with diapering/changing, although they do a majority of it. We all also assist with cleaning, but my role is primarily with students.

I always tell my assistants at the beginning of the year that I'll never ask them to do anything I won't do. I always make sure I assist with toileting, lead the way with challenging behaviors, and clean whenever needed. I try to make sure I'm always being a "leader" and modeling the behavior that I want to see in my paras (i.e. not getting my phone out during the day, dressing appropriately, using appropriate language with students, etc.)

sandycheeks

Old 03-29-2017, 05:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5