Help

New Teachers

applying for positions locally

>

whd507

applying for positions locally
Old 04-02-2017, 07:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I taught in a private Christian school years ago, and I have been subbing for over a year now, all grades including all summer, and I am just wrapping up my initial certificate (1-6) and I will be finishing a 7-12 History certificate soon. I am applying for 4-6th positions locally and while I know I was a good high school teacher years ago, and I am in demand now as a substitute, with most of my teachers telling me they are happy with my abilities. However I'm wanting to start this new phase well. I'm of the opinion that these lower grades are a little more important than what I was doing, since so many foundational things are taught here, that high school teachers take for granted (at least I did). So I'm filling out the apps and keep getting essay questions such as "Describe the skills or attributes you believe are necessary to be an outstanding teacher." and "How would you address a wide range of skills and abilities in your classroom?" I have addressed both a few times now, and while I'm not second guessing myself too much, I think added input might not be a bad idea, and wanted to throw these out here to see if I'm on track and what I'm missing. So I'd appreciate a little help with my homework here if you don't mind.

Also I'm a male teacher, and that does seem to be rare here locally in the lower grades. should I modify anything in my answers to help my cause? I think there ought to me more men in the lower grades, to help build a more solid and rounded foundation for this age group, but I have subbed in schools where being a male teacher in a lower grade was seen as suspect by some [hostile] female teachers. I would like to nullify that if possible, since I'm applying to districts where I have never subbed and therefore I have no idea what the teacher culture is there yet.