Classroom Management

I almost quit teaching today. I am lost and new advice

>

newteacher505

I almost quit teaching today. I am lost and new advice
Old 04-03-2017, 01:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

I came across this forum by typing in "I want to quit teaching". I really need some advice. I was a substitute teacher that became an actual teacher a month ago. I regret taking this assignment every single day and my life was better as a sub. I am currently at a high school.

First, i was given no lesson plans or guidance so I been trying to get some stuff together for these classes. The kids wont do the work that I give them. I cannot make the assignments any easier. One person keeps say he will report me to the board of education because he has a bad grade because he wont do his work >_> or my favorite "I am going to get you fired!"

The kids are rude, disrespectful, some threaten to beat me up but today was the worst. Apparently teachers have to buy their own stuff. So I purchased some equipment for some of my classes to work on project. It was very difficult to get all the stuff I had to go to several stores. I watched in horror as a group of students destroyed all the material. I kicked them all of out class.

I dont know what to do. I work in an isolated part of the school. There is no one around. I dont know what I can do for "discipline". The kids smoke weed at school and come to class high. Its a damn mess.

Good News: (Its not all bad). My background isnt education. I will actually be moving on to a high paying job with one of the nation's top companies in a month. That's what makes this so frustrating. The kids know the full extent of my background. I dont understand their behavior.

Today, after the incident with the kids destroying my stuff. I almost quit. Actually I packed all my stuff and cleaned my desk. I am not sure what to do....

newteacher505 is offline   Reply With Quote

irises

Well you are leaving
Old 04-03-2017, 02:46 PM