Help

Retired Teachers

Why retire "early?"

>

amiga13

Why retire "early?"
Old 04-04-2017, 08:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This has bothered me for a long time. I want to ask, but I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings. I love this board.

I understand retiring early if one can afford it. I don't understand retiring early and then continuing to work because you need the money. I get some people work because they miss teaching, but it seems to me if you need the money, it would be better to have just kept your original job.

What am I not understanding?

amiga13 is online now   Reply With Quote

lisa53

Old 04-04-2017, 09:08 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think people retire "early" for many reasons.

I retired at 62 because I could afford it...IF my dh continued to work (which he is willing to do). I had been teaching for 39 years. According to NH retirement system, I was of retirement age...but I am not eligible for Medicare for another year and a few months...and not at full SS age for a year after that. We will be better off after full retirement age, but we are managing reasonably well now. I do sub occasionally and I have a part time job at a local museum...because I really love teaching, and I like working on my own terms. It keeps me from getting bored.

I know some members have retired early due to health issues--their own, or another family member.

I am sure there are some who want to work at something completely different from teaching.

It will be interesting to see other responses.
lisa53 is online now   Reply With Quote

connieg

Old 04-04-2017, 09:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I understand Amiga13's question. I think we all fully understand the issue to retire for whatever reason IF you have the financial resources. To retire from teaching and then to HAVE continue in a different paid position (inside or outside of teaching) seems strange.