Classroom Management

The class that won't let me teach

>

MsMiller314

MsMiller314

The class that won't let me teach
Old 04-11-2017, 12:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher as well as a mid-year hire. I came into the classroom in mid-February. Aside from the chaos of the first few weeks everything has been going well..except for one class.

I love teaching math, but this class will not let me teach.

This class has 29 students, and is a remedial math class. I have tried every approach I can think of. I have tried group work, traditional lecture and notes, worksheets, and even hands on activities and projects. They won't do anything, and are constantly disrespectful toward me and each other. They are loud, violent, and destructive. When I was hired the principals and teachers warned me about this class, and they weren't kidding. I have asked other teachers for advice as well as administrators and they all say "Just try your best."
I have been using Khan Academy and Prodigy lately which has helped with some of the behavior issues (I have a class set of Chromebooks) but I feel like that is just the easy way out. I want to help these kids, but I can't get anything done with the current situation.

Any advice?

Mshope

29?
Old 04-11-2017, 03:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

First of all, 29 remedial students sounds like way too much. How are you supposed to help all of them? Can you add some group work with a higher and slightly lower students helping each other? Start the class with a graded quiz? Then, have the students correct it for credit?

I don't have computers, but maybe if the class cooperates, give them the last five to ten minutes as computer time? Not the greatest idea, but it sounds like they need some motivation. You don't say what grade level and I don't teach math, so I'm not sure what else to tell you except the obvious:
*split the trouble makers into the four corners
*follow your discipline plan (Do you have one?)