Principal is Leaving....should I follow him? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Career Decisions

Principal is Leaving....should I follow him?

>

debating

debating

Principal is Leaving....should I follow him?
Old 04-18-2017, 09:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, all!

My principal (who I have been with for a few years) is leaving our school to go to another school in the district. He pulled me aside and told me. He has always been supportive of me.

I could leave with him.

I am a new/younger teacher (less than 5 years teachingg). I have had enough experience with another principal to know that a principal who doesn't like you can cause you to be miserable, be out of a job, or worse, leave the teaching field entirely. I do not want to leave it to chance that my new principal will know how to handle the climate, parents, or anything else that makes the school so difficult.....or that they will take a liking to me ( I do not suck up to anyone. However, I am genuinely nice, and do not gossip). I already work in a rough neighborhood for a mediocre district (by mediocre, I mean, no tuition reimbursement, or incentives for teachers). The only thing I like about my current school is the location and my classroom size, appearance, and resources. My coworkers are a bunch of backbiters and have thrown me under the bus on numerous occasions. It's just a hostile work environment.

What are the things to consider? Can anyone tell me why they would follow their principal? Can anyone please share what your experience has been in following your principal to their new school?

Thank you in advance

Munchkins

Yes!
Old 04-19-2017, 01:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Since it's in the same district, and you don't care for your colleagues, I would go with him. You have many years left, so go where you will be supported.
Munchkins is online now   Reply With Quote

eeza

following principal
Old 04-19-2017, 07:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3