The Job Search

Can't afford to teach in California

>

Loveandmercy

Can't afford to teach in California
Old 04-23-2017, 05:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi All,
I am deciding that I can no longer live in California. It is like living in Paris or New York: rediculously expensive. I rent a studio and with housing prices doubling (no exaggeration) over the past five years, if I stay, I will continue to live in a studio. I have been teaching for ten years and am 53. My question: who is hiring? I will consider looking EVERYWHERE! I like the idea of living near Tennessee or Kentucky as I have family in that direction. If you know of any districts begging for teachers, I would appreciate hearing all about it!
Thank you much!

Loveandmercy is offline   Reply With Quote

Mr.L

Certification
Old 04-25-2017, 01:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

What is your certification? Depending upon what you can teach, there may be jobs available in Maine.
Mr.L is offline   Reply With Quote

MrsDedicated

North Central Florida
Old 04-25-2017, 04:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I'm currently a year away from graduating with my BS in Elementary Education and schools in my area are desperate for teachers. Every principal I've met in the Marion County/Levy County area is constantly asking when we'll be able to start working. I overheard one principal inquiring with my Reading professor about when we'll be graduating so she can put us to work. We also learned from the president of the local teacher's union that there are lots of cases of long-term subs being utilized for entire school years because there aren't enough teachers to be hired. Really sad situation, honestly, but I am feeling quite secure in my job prospects for when I graduate.
MrsDedicated is offline   Reply With Quote

teach1975

agree with PP
Old 04-25-2017, 10:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4