Career Decisions

Decision help!!

>

Confused95

Confused95

Decision help!!
Old 04-25-2017, 04:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher at a Catholic school. While I love my school, it pays about $10,000 a year less than surrounding public schools. That didn't bother me before, because I only teach 2 subjects (departmentalized) and have an assistant, so I am a lot less busy than a public school teacher.

Now, they decided to change it to self contained. I never planned on being at this school more than 2 or 3 years, but I am thinking about trying to leave after this year. My though is that now this is as much work as a public school teacher, just for way less money. Also, I am not Catholic, and feel very out of place here.

My question is, if I do apply to other schools, should I tell my principal I have applied to other schools? My fear is that I will tell her and then I won't get another job, so next year will be pretty awkward. Help!!

cabrini6285

Old 05-02-2017, 03:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I was in your shoes before. I did not tell them and the only time they found out was because the new school called for a reference. In my experience, that is what happens.
cabrini6285 is offline   Reply With Quote

crystalina

Old 05-02-2017, 07:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

This is exactly what I did.

It worked out well for me. My advice is DON'T tell them you are leaving and just start applying!
crystalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Confused95

Confused95

Thanks!
Old 05-05-2017, 08:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I think I will apply for other jobs. Who did you use for references? I don't think I want to use the teachers I work with, because I told them I was staying and don't want to be like "just kidding I am trying to leave". I can still use my university supervisor, and a teacher I used to sub for.

kpossible518

Same Boat
Old 05-09-2017, 03:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5