Second Grade

Has anyone taught 1st and 2nd grade?

>

SunShining

Has anyone taught 1st and 2nd grade?
Old 04-29-2017, 11:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'll try to give the scenario as briefly as I can:

I'm a first year teacher currently teaching 1st grade. For a while, it was looking like they would be cutting my job but adding a K position, and I was going to pursue that even though I would have prederred to stay in 1st. They ended up keeping my position and a 2nd grade teacher took the open Kindergarten slot. The rest of the 2nd grade team asked me if I would consider moving to 2nd grade. I vibe very well with them and we've all become friends this year despite im separate wings. I do like the 1st grade team, one of them is an amazing mentor and the other is nice but we have different styles and personalities so we aren't that close.

If I want to change grades I need to talk to my P Monday. I know he prefers to keep new teachers at the same grade but I feel this may give me another experience to see what grade I love best. I love the 2nd grade team but know my mentor for this year would be sad to see me go.

My reasonfor posting here... how different is 2nd grade than 1st? Why do you prefer 2nd grade? Is there anything that makes 2nd grade easier or harder than 1st? How different is curriculum? Anything else about 2nd I should know?

Thank you!

SunShining is offline   Reply With Quote

Lakeside

Old 04-30-2017, 01:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Take my opinion lightly, as I've only subbed in both of those grades, but I'll try since I see no one else has answered yet.

Basically, kids grow so fast that the first graders you have now are like the second graders you'd start with in the fall. Kids change a lot from the beginning to the end of the year in both grades.

Both grades kind of tire me out socially. They want to be right next to you a lot, tattling can be an issue, etc. I find first is harder in the spring and second in the fall.