Help

Substitute Teachers

how to get more jobs?

>

luv2teach2017

how to do this?
Old 05-06-2017, 12:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been subbing elementary classes for over a year now and really love teaching the kids. I am middle aged, and an experienced teacher and professional, but I don't have a K-12 teaching credential. I'm a good teacher, follow the lesson plan, leave good notes and a clean class, keep the kids in order, and the kids generally love me because I keep them engaged and interested. The problem is, I feel like a ghost passing in the night. I have talked with teachers and principals from time to time, but haven't made any headway getting requests to return. I still have to rely on AESOP posts for almost all my jobs. Is it more a matter of hanging out in the lunch room and making friends? I'd love to hear your advice.

Last edited by luv2teach2017; 05-06-2017 at 02:26 PM..
luv2teach2017 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sirsubalot

Old 05-06-2017, 03:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have been subbing almost 20 years, but I am only on the official request list for about seven teachers, so don't feel too bad.

I would suggest you let the teachers know in your sub report that you really enjoyed the class and hope to return.

Even if you are first on a teachers list, however, this does not mean you will get the job. AESOP does not wait long before handling it out to the next available sub. Sometimes just 20 minutes after getting the request, the job is gone.

I really don't think that most teachers really care who the their sub is, as long as they leave things in order.
Sirsubalot is offline   Reply With Quote

mooba1

Old 05-06-2017, 05:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3