Help

The VENT

The "Policy on Twins"

>

mommysubs

The "Policy on Twins"
Old 05-21-2017, 09:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Does anyone else's school have a "policy on twins" meaning they MUST be separated in kindergarten at all costs for fear of *gasp* having them feel more comfortable with starting school for the first time? Heaven forbid! Yes administrator "twin policy" creators they ARE individuals who can occupy the same space and have completely different interests and behaviors. But should school be a source of unnecessary emotional trauma? I thought we were supposed to be supportive of children not making it a source of greater anxiety than need be. My thoughts personally seeing what the "policy" does to other young twin students and as a mom of twins who will be starting kindergarten in two school years. Yes I have heard all the proponents views but as a mom and teacher I don't see the benefits outweighing the unnecessary emotional load it puts on these young boys and girls. Thank you for this vent...just had to get it out there. And I have heard staff in my district crow with pride about how they even break up triplets! Ummm yay for breaking up family ties? That is after all what school is all about!

mommysubs is offline   Reply With Quote

MKat

Old 05-21-2017, 09:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

At our school the parent generally decides with input from staff.. I had twins last year and it was no problem so Mom kept them together again in 1st. We have twins in K this year and mom chose to have them separate because one is an introvert and one is very extroverted. I think it's for the best too. I think it's totally a case by case thing. I do think the school should have the option to insist on separating them though.
MKat is online now   Reply With Quote

Zia

Old 05-21-2017, 10:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3