Assuming responsibility for a club next year? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

New Teachers

Assuming responsibility for a club next year?

>

GatsbysDream

Assuming responsibility for a club next year?
Old 06-03-2017, 04:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

During my end of year evaluation and meeting, my principal told me he wants me to start a Literary Magazine or some type of "Pen and Quill" club.

I am thinking he means literary magazine, which, as an English teacher, I am totally happy to do!

The issue is that the last time I did this at my old school, interest faded quickly for whatever reason.

I know how to get it started, but I don't know how to keep it going or keep kids interested. I have no idea what I'm doing past the initial stages of "This is what this club is all about and this is what we do" phase although it seems simple enough.

For example, I don't know any companies that would publish the finished product for the school or how to contact one.

My department head has been very sick for the past week or so, so I don't want to bother her with all these silly questions.

I don't know if we are definitely going to a block schedule next year, which would have an impact on how often we meet because then we probably would during the school day instead of after school.

If anybody has any advice for me, please post it below. He said very specifically multiple times "I have very high
expectations for you" and I would love to actually meet them.

Thank you so very much!

GatsbysDream is offline   Reply With Quote

lisa53

Old 06-03-2017, 05:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2