Help

The Job Search

bad year, how to write resume

>

VAtoFL

bad year, how to write resume
Old 06-16-2017, 06:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi all, and thanks in advance for any suggestions...
Last year I was working in Virginia, wasn't loving the job, but it paid the bills, and I was able to get a second job in the area which DID help pay the bills!

However, I started a relationship with an old friend and he asked me to move in with him in Florida. I took the plunge and went, only to find out that Florida is a HORRIBLE place to be a teacher. I've been teaching for 13 years, have two masters and make LESS than I did my first year teaching. The year has been horrible, I've had a few missteps and my job record for this past school year, while I did work all year, was pretty bad. I encountered charter schools for the first time and had no idea how bad they could be.

I did one stint teaching in a non-traditional setting, and it was wonderful, but it was for a set period of time, so that contract ended. I finished out the last two months of the school year in an interim position at a public school which wasn't bad, either, but the pay is so awful all I can do is pay my bills. There is literally nothing left over.

I'm seriously considering going back to Virginia, because life on the home front isn't great because I seriously don't like where I live, the BF is having a hard time making the home feel like I live there (I still feel like I'm permanently visiting...he has a hard time getting rid of all his 'collections' and there's literally no room for my stuff...after a year, this is getting old).