The Job Search

Worth The Step Back?

>

kinder_teach7

kinder_teach7

Worth The Step Back?
Old 07-05-2017, 09:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm torn on a job option for next year. I should be looking for my own "real" classroom. I graduated two years ago, spent most of last year in a maternity leave position (then a bit of random subbing at the end) and SHOULD be looking for my own position for this upcoming school year. I recently found out about a full year maternity leave position at my dream school and am so torn on if I should go for it. In my district, these positions do not count toward tenure, so this would put me at two years that do not count. But on the other hand, this is hands down my dream school.

I'm conflicted over what to do about this. I wouldn't consider it for any other school, but getting myself in with this particular one would be my absolute ideal situation. I know it doesn't promise a position for the following year, but it could seriously increase my odds. Does it seem worth the chance?

GreyhoundGirl

Old 07-05-2017, 10:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would go for it and continue applying for classroom positions in other districts/schools and see what happens.

I always caution people about "dream" school. It may be that until you get there and see what's REALLY happening. You could start the maternity leave and realize it's not as great as you think it is. Just a thought.
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

Betty4567

Old 07-05-2017, 11:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I hate to be a Debbie Downer (especially on this type of board), but most people already have someone in mind when they go on maternity leave.

In our District, maternity leave positions are almost always given to retired teachers. Your district may be different, but I would still apply.

I am also very weary of people who have "dream" schools. I would never advice anyone to wait (especially this late in the hiring season).