Help

Middle School/Jr High (6-8)

Brand New Push-In Teacher Here Needing Advice

>

PushInTeacher

Brand New Push-In Teacher Here Needing Advice
Old 07-07-2017, 07:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been offered a job as a Push-In teacher and I'd love to connect with seasoned special ed/resource teachers who've done this job before I make my final decision.

Frankly, I'm a little scared about it. I need to know the pros and cons.

I am an older teacher, went back to college after my kids were grown. I've 12 years experience teaching in private schools and I have twins myself with autism.

However, during my student teaching, I found that being a push-in teacher was little more than being a glorified para. The teachers don't treat the special education teachers as equals, and don't welcome input.

If you could give me tips, I welcome them! I'd also like to know what your day is like before I sign on the dotted line.

Thanks so much!

PushInTeacher is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 07-07-2017, 09:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm an elementary sped teacher, so you may want to take my advice with a grain of salt, but I personally cannot stand pushing in. As you said, you end up being treated like a glorified aide.

In my experience, the gen ed teacher does the teaching and the sped teacher is in charge of modifying work (if that's allowed in your area) and providing accommodations. What that looks like in practice is often the gen ed teacher at the front of the room teaching while the sped teacher floats around the room and redirects kids/keeps them on task/manages behavior and helps kids who raise their hands. I did do a middle school ST assignment in college and this was my experience there also.