Newbie - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Fifth Grade

>

maeflower456

Old 07-13-2017, 08:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a complete Newbie teacher starting in the fall. I'll be teaching 5th grade ELA and social studies and am very nervous! I did alt cert so I had very little classroom time so any and all thoughts, advice, tips are appreciated.

I'm super excited for this journey, but would love some additional help!

maeflower456 is offline   Reply With Quote

freckleface

Let me be the first to say
Old 07-13-2017, 11:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Welcome to ProTeacher! You will find it to be the most friendly and helpful website out there!

This will be my 35th year of teaching and this will be my 6th year in fifth grade! I've taught 2nd and 4th also and I love 5th grade the best. I teach ELA and Science.

Are there any specific questions that we can help you with?
freckleface is offline   Reply With Quote

owl98

Old 07-13-2017, 12:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Welcome to PT, maeflower456. I've taught for 18 years and I'm jealous of your placement! I'd love to teach ELA and social studies all day!!! I teach all subjects.
Like freckleface, I agree that this is the most friendly and helpful website out there! I was also wondering if you had any specific questions.
My initial instinct is to advise you to make sure you have a management plan and you are on the same "page" as your teammates. Management is the most difficult thing for newbie teachers and your teammates will really be able to help you with what works in your school.
I would start looking at the curriculum calendar if you have one and *start* (don't try to do the whole thing at once!) organizing by marking period (we go in trimesters) I have a folder in google drive for each trimester and within each trimester a folder for each subject I teach and within each subject I teach each unit I teach.
Get you hands on the curriculum and plan out for the first few weeks.