I'm new at this job and I feel like I'm not cut out to be a teacher - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

I'm new at this job and I feel like I'm not cut out to be a teacher

>

newteacher23

I'm new at this job and I feel like I'm not cut out to be a teacher
Old 07-16-2017, 07:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

So I started working at this daycare 2 months ago and they put me in the toddler room. I never expected working with toddlers since I had always plan on working with the 3 or 4 year olds. So working with the toddlers has been a bit of challenge especially since I never had that much experience working with them since when I did my intern, I was mostly with the older kids of 3 to 6. And also I never change diapers before lol. But lately I feel like maybe I'm not cut out to be a teacher cause I sometimes feel like I keep making mistakes. I have trouble controlling the kids when they are misbehaving. One time, my coworker was saying that I need to keep an eye on them when she is doing something to avoid accidents and I do keep an eye on them. And that one time I threw away this sharp metal thing so the kids wouldn't get hurt by it and I turn around and this child started crying. And that's when she told me that and also said that shouldn't have happen or what happen to this other girl shouldn't have happen when a kid hit her with a toy. And it's like she is trying to say it's my fault these accidents happen. And I just felt bad about my self like maybe this was my fault and maybe I'm not cut out to be a teacher since I keep making these mistakes. I can't seem to control the students when they miss behave. I don't know. I need advice and support that can help me.

newteacher23 is offline   Reply With Quote

teacher24

Old 07-16-2017, 09:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2