Help

The Job Search

Honest feedback on demo lesson

>

emmay8

Honest feedback on demo lesson
Old 07-19-2017, 04:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I had to do my first demo lesson ever yesterday for a job I really want. I went into it knowing they really liked me. My philosophies and practices align well with theirs and I have 9 years of experience in private school.
I was given a standard two weeks ago along with skills that didn't all align with the standard. Plus they would NEVER have fit into the half hour block. So I focused on the one that aligned most closely and would have been the logical first lessonv(which he mentioned in his phone conversation prior).
I put a ton of prep work into this. Had several veteran teachers look it over. They all saidxto watch myvtime do I made some modifications. Didn't know until a day ahead that I would have a total of five students, two would be TAG.
I nervous but ready. Well it was about 1,000 degrees in the room so I got super hot and sweaty which flustered me a little but certainly didn't stop me. The way the students arrived caused me to modify my ibtro a little and I subsequently forgot my short warmup. As soon as I started I realized one girl was taking forever to respond to directions so I made sure to visit her desk immediately after giving them to assure she was one task. I circulated and pulled out manipulatives when the students were struggling a bit. But I went waaay over in time and then didn't even get to finish. I did adequately adjust my assessment to reflect that. But I felt like it could have been summed up better (the principal had told me twice I had five minutes). I left feeling totally defeated. No time for the fifteen minute follow-up discussion so I didn't get to discuss what I would have done differently. The superintendent, who I'm told isn't always the nicest guy, was very pleasant to me and asked if he could keep part of the materials I had created.