Gen ed to collab. Desperate need of advice! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Primary Grades (K-2)

Gen ed to collab. Desperate need of advice!

>

Birdie86

Gen ed to collab. Desperate need of advice!
Old 07-25-2017, 01:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach k and my admin told me this summer that I would have the collab class next year. My teammate that did collab left my campus, we hired a new teacher for collab, but somehow thet still got hired but it was assigned to me instead. This is only my second year teaching and I have no spec ed experience at all nor a degree or cert. in spec ed. We don't even get full support in the classroom so it's more like a gen ed teacher (in this case - me) on her own majority of the day. I am feeling really upset, scared, and nervous. Especially knowing how rough k collab had been at my campus. I am on a team of 9 and I feel like it was only given to me because I'm relatively new and have always been willing to please and say yes to everything. With all the legalities and not being experienced I'm a bit overwhelmed right now. I was starting to get the hang of it and really enjoy it and now I'm just terrified and the excitement is gone. Has this happened to anyone before? Anyone teaching k collab out there that can share some tips/experiences/etc.?

Birdie86 is offline   Reply With Quote

irises

Collab?
Old 07-25-2017, 02:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am unfamiliar with the term. Do you mean that you will have special ed as well as general ed students? If so, their IEPs will stipulate how much time they must have with a special ed teacher. Perhaps they will be pulled out part of the day and then in your class with an aide? I know you said that you will be alone. You cannot legally do it on your own if students with IEPs are involved. Are you in a public school?
irises is offline   Reply With Quote

1stTeacherPF

Old 07-25-2017, 02:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I'm not sure of the collab term either???