Help

Career Decisions

New to teaching

>

ccstwelds

New to teaching
Old 07-26-2017, 09:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a new teacher I was a welder for 37 years and now I'm teaching it. It'd something I always thought about. I had a great welding teacher and life lessons I was taught then still come to mind. I have no formal training as a teacher, they gave me a conditional certificate and have 2 years to take 4 classes and pass the praxis 1. I started teaching last October. The class I inherited was horrible, I actually got my old job back after thinking it's not for me. By the time everything went through I had a new class that were all mine, they couldn't compare me with anyone. Teaching became fun. Of course my new class may be different, who knows. I have 1 class a , all day. After reading how some people hate where they work, I have to say our administration is great and supportive, the system has given me an ample budget to work with and the school is 2 years old and my shop is really modern and up to date. Right now I'm enjoying the benefits of being off for the Summer. So at this point I think I made the right career decision. If it doesn't work out, I still have a trade to go back to.

Last edited by ccstwelds; 07-26-2017 at 12:18 PM..
ccstwelds is offline   Reply With Quote

PeaceLoveRun

Welcome!
Old 07-26-2017, 03:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm also multi-careered! There will always be good years and bad years, and I'm learning that I need to be able to take the bad years with the good years and not be so quick to call it quits. Welcome to the board! It's great here!
PeaceLoveRun is offline   Reply With Quote

Substitute

Old 07-29-2017, 03:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

CCST, you remind me of the article I read describing how many people became teachers back in the 1800s. They were working at something else, but when they became injured or too old to continue the manual job, they started teaching.