My First Classroom

>

MsKeepItCalm

My First Classroom
Old 07-26-2017, 09:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi There Educators,

My name is Tatiana, but people call me Tati. I have recently obtained my
first teaching job(aside from being a teacher's assistant). I am super excited, yet terrified at the same time. I will be teaching the second grade! I have heard a lot of great things about this grade. I have had student teaching in Kindergarten & 5th. I also was a teachers assistant for PreK & 5th grade. Moreover, I am totally new to this grade. I so need help. My main focus right now is how to set up my classroom. What things should I put up? How should it be arranged? I so promise you all that I went to school I know I should know the answers to the above, yet I am clueless for the moment. I know many of my friends always talk about their themes and all that jazz when decorating / setting up their room. I am not much of a "theme" person I like clean, simple & age appropriate. Or should I have a theme? I dont know! Any feedback is totally welcomed & appreciated. I thank you in advance!

MsKeepItCalm is offline   Reply With Quote

Mrs G

Congratulations!
Old 07-27-2017, 03:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Congratulations!! Don't worry! Many of us feel similar to the way you do...year after year!
For setting up, start by googling around. Look for how the physical space can accommodate the schedule and traffic patterns in the room. Think about how the room will be used every day. Imagine being a 2nd grader and needing to get from the door to the closet to the desk...stuff like that. Will there be traffic jams or conflicts if your book area is hidden by a shelf?