Help

Classroom Management

Middle School Management

>

cali11

Middle School Management
Old 08-04-2017, 03:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I will be teaching 7th grade social studies this year. It is my first year teaching, so I have no experience implementing my own classroom management system. When I student taught, it was younger grades, and teams had plans for the entire community. I found out today that my team does not have a plan, they believe that 7th grade is the time to learn responsibility. I still do not feel comfortable without a behavior plan. What can I do in my own individual classroom that still adheres to the "learning responsibility" idea?

cali11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Mshope

You need a plan-long
Old 08-04-2017, 06:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would refer you to Michael Linton who has a Smart Classroom Management website. I also like the Wong books like The First Day of School. Another one I like is Setting Limits in the Classroom because the author stresses that you have to have a consequence. You can't just say, "Raise your hand" a hundred times and don't do anything.

My team doesn't really have a plan either. Basically, each teacher has five rules or so and then just threatens to call home or write up kids who are disruptive. I am a little more specific. I have my five rules, but I also send home a discipline plan to be signed and returns that has consequences and "rewards" on it. I put rewards in parenthesis because we have a school wide reward plan (like our form of PBIS), so I've altered that.