Career Decisions

Raising our value/worth

>

jag1986

Raising our value/worth
Old 08-11-2017, 10:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello my fellow teachers!

I suppose this is more of a "vent/sharing of thoughts" type post but I figured I'd throw it into the teacher web world and see what others thoughts are.

I've been a certified special education teacher (resource room) for 5 years(going to be 6 this coming year) at a publicly funded charter school(I promise, I am not the enemy!). It took me a decent amount of time to land this job...before then I was hired full time as a paraprofessional and in the interim obtained my Masters in Special Education.

I am 31 and just trying to get my "stuff" together. I had to take out student loans for schooling (yes, maybe I should have rethought my Masters). I've worked in the summer as a camp counselor/mentor/nanny/tutor. I also tutor during the school year. I pretty much feel like a hamster on a wheel lately...just working and side hustling to pay off debt.

I've really come a long way with my "side hustles".....most the families I work with are very wealthy so of course I'm making more $$ than I was in college.

But I'm really starting to take a look at the families who pay me and see their lives (multiple houses, mutiple premium cars/multiple children/fancy clothes etc).

I'm really starting to get sick of this societal standard that all those working with children make the least amount of money. How silly is it that people will spend hundreds of dollars on Valentino shoes yet nickel and dime their child's tutor?

How come our society finds it normal to pay a personal trainer $75 an hour but a child's babysitter/driver/tutor $12-$30 an hour?