Desprite For Rounding Strategies!!!!!!!! - ProTeacher Community

amoss

Desprite For Rounding Strategies!!!!!!!!
Old 09-29-2007, 09:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Yes...I am desprite. I have been teaching for 10 years and EVERY year it's the same thing with rounding numbers. They act as if they have never seen the concept before. This concept is REVIEW, yet I bang my head against the wall with it. I teach fourth grade. They are rounding numbers into the millions-any place value. Does [U]anyone [/U]have a strategy that works out there????

FYI: I have taught the number line strategy and the place value strategy( looking to the number to the right of the number to be rounded and so on.) I have done small group instruction for my struggling students( they leave getting it...really they do) I have sent home extra practice for those severe cases. I blocked out two days to teach and practice the concept. Yet, we do a quick review ( 10 problems on the concept and they get 40% or 50% on it????? Help, I'm being driven crazy!!!!!

amoss is offline   Reply With Quote

iteach4th

This is what I did this year....
Old 09-29-2007, 11:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My 4th graders were struggling with rounding big numbers, too. I found a cute little rhyme here on PT that I tried this year. Wow.....it helped so much!

I first taught them to underline the digit we were rounding to and then look next door. We even draw an arrow from the underlined number to the one next door.

Then, together, we say this....It's kind of a military chant that the kids repeat each line after me....

0,1,2,3 and 4
Don't change that number any more!

5,6,7,8, or 9
Change that number everytime!

Rounding!
Rounding!

Now, on assessments, I see them saying the chant in their heads before they answer the question! I "think" I can finally say they've got it!

Sure hope this helps!
iteach4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Splplce

Splplce

Old 09-29-2007, 12:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I like the rounding chant!