The Job Search

need help to improve

>

joblessinMo

joblessinMo

need help to improve
Old 08-26-2017, 06:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

The summer has come and gone. I am a recent graduate with an elementary degree. Had a job last year, so far from my house, so I opted to look closer this year. I have great references from my job last year. I did not realize that the field was so saturated. I subbed for 3 years before graduating. Here's a problem, I am 53 years old and I think my age might have a reason to do with why I am getting turned down. I have had 4 interviews. Maybe better candidates just came along. I am not needed where I was the year before because of enrollment. How can I look better on paper? I have applied for assistant jobs, but I think they keep expecting someone younger than I am. I am going back to subbing, but I want to improve my paper profile. Is the general consensus that someone my age would struggle to handle the stress of the profession? I need some straight shooters here so that I can face reality and get a game plan. I taught homeschool for over 14 years and decided to be a teacher because of my love to instruct children. The homeschool experience is not valued on the same level as public teaching, and it is very different, yet it contributed knowledge and experience to me as a public school teacher. How do I become a rockstar fellow teachers???? Help!

flutetoot

Old 08-26-2017, 11:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Elementary is very competitive from what I have seen - is it possible for you to get certified in other areas?

I am 50 myself. I finally got my first teaching job at 47. I have numerous certs in numerous states. I know what you are going through!

People will say that there is no age discrimination in schools, but there is. I know that I was passed over many times by someone less experienced, less qualified, and not even certified but they were much younger.