Help

Fifth Grade

Help!!!!

>

Jackie

Help!!!!
Old 08-28-2017, 05:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was just transferred to a great school within my district. However, I was moved into FIFTH grade. I have been teaching 1st grade for 15 years! It is all I know! I know absolutely nothing about teaching fifth grade. I don't have a clue. What is the morning routine like? What do I do with them the first day of school? I am actually going to have to study each day before I teach math! I don't know how to set up a fifth grade classroom. I am so lost and I only have four days to set up and figure it all out. I am happy about the change but am so nervous about my lack of knowledge of the fifth grade curriculum.
Any and all help is appreciated!!

Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 08-28-2017, 07:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I taught 1st for 5 years and then had to move to 5th. It was a tough year, but I really enjoyed working with the age group.

Even though they want everyone to think they are all grown up, they are still little kids. Mine liked read alouds and stickers just as much as the little ones!

There are some good blogs around. Some I got ideas from:
http://www.rundesroom.com/
http://www.teachinginroom6.com/

Start out as you normally would. Decide what procedures are. Bring the kids into some of the decisions and the buy in will be higher. Give them chores to get the classroom organized for them. They enjoy the responsibility.

You will do fine. Breathe. Make friends with any of your peers so you can lean on them for some of the projects and activities you will need in 5th. Good luck this year. You got this.
kahluablast is online now   Reply With Quote

Lynnteach2

Old 08-28-2017, 07:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3