Help

Special Education

15 min for social skills

>

dreamer68

15 min for social skills
Old 09-09-2017, 04:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new special ed teacher, my students are grade K. He requires 75 min per week for social skills. He does not have academic goals, but mainly work habits and social skills. He is a smart little boy, but shows some traits of autism, but not addressed like that in the IEP. He has been hitting and spitting other kids this week.

Any ideas of how can I put some social skills in practice?

dreamer68 is offline   Reply With Quote

Lottalove

Just based on what you shared
Old 09-09-2017, 06:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Welcome to PT!

Quote:
shows some traits of autism
I am not sure what that means exactly but if he misses social cues and subtle points, I would start with some very clear instruction. " This is school. We do not hit or spit at school.' Do not say it with anger but be very clear and straight forward. Be careful with your words.

Remember too that behavior is mostly communication. What is occurring when he hits and spits? Can you observe and/or set up an FBA? Is he frustrated, anger, what? Can you teach him a replacement behavior that is acceptable and still does the job? Teach him some specific strategies to avoid the situation.

In 15 minutes, you can do a social story on the desired behavior and role play/practice the replacement behavior/strategy so that it comes to mind first. The gen ed teacher will need to be on board from the get go. When he does interact successfully using the strategy or without the misbehavior, he needs reinforcement pretty immediately. That part will be up to her if you only get 15 min a day with him. The reward/reinforcement needs to be something he cares about. If he doesn't care about XXX (stickers or smiley faces, etc.), those will not be effective rewards.

Good luck.
Lottalove is online now   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy

Old 09-09-2017, 07:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3