Help

Fifth Grade

Classroom behavior and talking

>

carrieSAtoUSA

Classroom behavior and talking
Old 09-14-2017, 01:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach at an international school in Thailand. We teach in English and, in general, the students' English is pretty good.

I have a 5th grade class that I teach Math and Science to, but they are INCREDIBLY talkative. I mean, they talk non-stop all the time! I have taught for 25 years but have never experienced this. I use Class Dojo, we have school incident reports, and I have discussed their behavior with them, but nothing seems to work. My team teacher (who teaches them LA and SS) has a system where she makes them write 100 or 200 lines when they are not doing the right thing. I don't see much of a point to this, except that they try to do it in my class!

I have separated them to sit boy/girl, but that doesn't always help either. I found that the best thing is keeping them on task ALL the time, which is not always possible.

I have a couple of behavior problems in this class, but I have managed it that they don't give me much trouble in class any more. It's just the general chatting that is driving me nuts lol!

If anyone has some ideas for me, I would be thrilled!

carrieSAtoUSA is offline   Reply With Quote

Sam5

Old 09-14-2017, 03:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My daughter taught in Thailand for four years and I volunteered in the schools for three summers. The first thing you need to know is that it is not you. In Thailand culture people do talk while others are speaking. One of the things teachers struggled with while I was there was kids constantly chatting. We found that using some Whole Brain Teaching Strategies were helpful.
http://wholebrainteaching.com/beginner/

You can also find videos on youtube.