Career Decisions

A Need for Change

>

BrndOutTeach

A Need for Change
Old 09-16-2017, 09:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Dear teachers,

I come here to ask for help, suggestions, or any kind of support. I have been a teacher for almost a decade, and I know I have so many more years before I can retire. However, I cannot do it anymore. I no longer enjoy it. I feel like a soulless robot throughout the day. Each day I come home later and later. On the weekends I do not see the light of day due to non-stop lesson planning, grading, data analysis, and data entry. I am sure you all can relate to this. I know, some may say, I should have known...and I have.

For a while now I have been contemplating to quit teaching and do something else. At this point I would even go flip burgers for a basic wage as long as I know when I am done, I am done.

A second week into the school year I am already physically and emotionally ill.

So, my question is, what kind of job can I get with my teaching degree? For a while I have been thinking of getting into medical field. I know I may return to school, if I decide to go such a route. But for now, anything will do, but teaching. I am just too damn (pardon my language) tired...

Thank you all for listening and making useful suggestions.

BrndOutTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

markm

have fun
Old 09-21-2017, 08:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

When I was in the first few years of teaching I felt very much the same. I woke up one day and thought life is just too short for this. I decided that day I would have fun in teaching. If will have fun with the kids. If my administrators don't like it they would just have to force me to find a different job. Always worked out since then. I know they work hard with evaluation and stupid pointless paperwork but try to have some fun with the kids. Many years after that they would have to come down and say ok school is over for the Summer you can go home until mid August
markm is offline   Reply With Quote