Help

Special Education

Professional Development questions

>

spedder1

Professional Development questions
Old 09-20-2017, 07:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Good morning! I have been asked by my district to do some mentoring/training with self-contained low incidence (moderate to severe Intellectual Disabilities and Autism) classroom teachers. I have helped out at my old building, but now am being asked to help in other buildings, which is fine. I want to write a proposal to the district that they provide at least a half day of training prior to school starting to do a presentation and question/answer session with teachers in those classrooms. As a former self-contained teacher I know I became totally angry and frustrated sitting through beginning of the year meetings and trainings that had nothing to do with my students/classroom. So, what things would you like to know prior to stepping in a self-contained classroom? This training would apply to new teachers, teachers with experience in other special ed areas that are transitioning into self-contained, and experienced teachers whose populations are changing. In my district we are seeing fewer students in wheelchairs and more students who have minor physical impairments, moderate to severe ID and are very active, and children with moderate to severe ID who have some significant behaviors and even veteran teachers are struggling. Many are moving to other areas of special ed or into general ed because the job is almost impossible.
I appreciate your input.
Kathy

spedder1 is online now   Reply With Quote

readandweep

Pd
Old 09-21-2017, 03:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Available resources and curriculum.

I know I have changed district/jobs and often find myself buying materials when what I needed was sitting in a closet somewhere.

Assessments - what you give, what you don't give and priority of each assessment.