Help

Substitute Teachers

Do you think this is snarky comment

>

elepen

Do you think this is snarky comment
Old 10-11-2017, 06:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I took the students to the elementary science lab. The teacher who is overweight and frumpy looking asked me if I was a retired teacher and I said yes how can you tell. She said because subs your age are usually retired teachers. If she only knew I'm pushing 69 next week I've always looked younger. She probably thought I was in my late 50s
The best compliment I've gotten is that they could tell I was a retired teacher because of the way I was with the students.

elepen is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 10-11-2017, 06:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I wouldn't take it as snarky.

Good for you for staying active and involved! While I hope I am not to the place where I am still working (either for pleasure, amusement, or need), I do so hope that I am able to be active and that I know who my family is when I am pushing 70.

I don't mean that snarky, either! I have always looked considerably younger than my years, but in the last 10 I think it has caught up with me some. My hair is greying fast and that few pounds really makes a difference. Who knows, though? I don't think I look my age now, but I feel it sometimes.
kahluablast is offline   Reply With Quote

Cayo

Old 10-11-2017, 06:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I don't like the attitude that subs aren't teachers. I think of myself as a part-time very versatile teacher. I thnk if subs were considered teachers and treated accordingly by school staffs, our job would be easier. Too often, we're thought of as babysitters, just filling in while the parents are out. And as far as the age thing goes, you'd never guess it and I'll never tell.
Cayo is offline   Reply With Quote

Renea

Old 10-11-2017, 09:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4