Co-teaching in a bilingual classroom without knowing spanish - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Special Education

Co-teaching in a bilingual classroom without knowing spanish

>

panther1987

Co-teaching in a bilingual classroom without knowing spanish
Old 10-16-2017, 05:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

So I am a fairly experienced resource teacher. However, I do not speak Spanish. I have a student who I am currently serving in the bilingual general education classroom. She has a writing goal that addresses mechanics like capitals and periods. She is in second grade and is still writing mostly in Spanish. This makes it somewhat difficulty to assess her writing. I've tried having my para translate the work but that's not really part of her job and we have enough kids she really doesn't have time to do that. I've also tried using google translate. Unfortunately, her spacing makes this difficult since I can't always tell where words end and begin.

I don't feel like I am really helping her. We have a review ARD coming up soon to try to address these issues but I am at a loss as to how to improve her services without a bilingual resource teacher, which we don't have.

Any ideas?

panther1987 is offline   Reply With Quote

catandturtle

Old 10-18-2017, 03:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Does your district have a bilingual itinerant sped teacher?
catandturtle is offline   Reply With Quote

panther1987

That would be too easy.
Old 10-18-2017, 06:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

No, no bilingual sped teachers, itinerant or otherwise.
panther1987 is offline   Reply With Quote

catandturtle

Old 10-21-2017, 06:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

That's tough then. I served a kid with in class support in a bilingual class last year, but I do speak enough Spanish to where I can read and generally understand it, and he was on level academically and had no academic goals (he was in behavior program).