Help

Special Education

Reading groups for self-contained classroom

>

Teachercat2

Reading groups for self-contained classroom
Old 10-20-2017, 12:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am struggling with how to structure my reading groups in my self-contained classroom. I was wondering how others set theirs up? I have three reading levels and 2 out of the 3 groups are still emergent readers despite being second graders. I have about 20 minutes for each group. In the past, when I was a resource room teacher I would use a phonics program and do a 40 minute intervention skill lesson going through all the steps. However with this group, I am their only reading group so I feel like I need to incorporate both phonics and guided reading into a 20 min. Time frame. I also have no phonics program to use at this school, so I have been just making my own... (definitely not the best idea.). My school has the LLI program, but I think it is awful and clearly these kids have not been getting good results thus far, as many of them still can not blend or read. Anyway would love to hear what others do?!

Teachercat2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Hailey18

Here’s what I do
Old 10-21-2017, 03:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Here’s how I set up my groups, but I’m not sure if you would have the time in your day. I have 3 different reading groups as well, two of them are pretty low. I have my classroom aide do a group of direct instruction, I take a guided reading group, and the others do independent work (we have a checklist of activities they can choose from and programs like RAZ Kids on the Chromebooks). In my group, I choose a leveled book, often from Reading A-Z. We practice reciprocal teaching strategies while reading, use graphic organizers, and try to apply the phonics skills they work on in their direct instruction group or in their Words Their Way sorts.