Help

Fourth Grade

Unpacking the Standards

>

PearlSBuck

Unpacking the Standards
Old 10-28-2017, 01:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

As part of the never ending workload placed upon us, we have now been asked to UNPACK the common core standards for ELA and Math. Principal supplied a template for us to use and expects us to complete 2 -3 standards during a half day teacher in-service day per teacher. I assume we will be asked to do this for all the common core standards before the year is over!
My big questions are WHY do such a thing and HOW will it make me a better teacher? I have been teaching for over 30 years. I like to think I know what I am doing and don't shy away from new concepts and curriculum spending many hours of my own time researching and reading new ways to instruct in the classroom.
This latest 'busy' project appears to follow in the footsteps of many of the items we as educators are asked to do which more times than not, end up being shelved in a year or two! (Danielson Portfolio)
Does anyone else have this as a task? Does anyone have some of this already written or can share where I can go to make this an easier process? I am willing to do the work but only when I feel it will actually make me a better teacher and my students better learners. This just seems like a way to "fill an in-service day" to satisfy the school board.
Thanks for any words of wisdom and suggestions!

PearlSBuck is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 10-28-2017, 02:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think most of using CCSS were asked to unpack them once or twice already. I don't understand how that helps either. And if they need to be unpacked, why not include that in the standards so millions of teachers don't have to do the same exact thing. Can't even imagine how many hours have been spent doing this.
kahluablast is online now   Reply With Quote

Tulips

Unpacked standards
Old 10-28-2017, 03:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3