Anybody else having problems with... - ProTeacher Community


Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help


      Substitute Teachers

Anybody else having problems with...

>

Reply
 
Thread Tools
mrsd5's Avatar
mrsd5 mrsd5 is offline
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,897
Senior Member

mrsd5
 
mrsd5's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,897
Senior Member
Anybody else having problems with...
Old 11-01-2017, 04:50 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #1

...Jobulator? Jobs aren't popping up. It happened once before, and I got it straightened out. I'm not too upset now, as November is really busy this year. I'll be in NJ tomorrow through Monday to babysit my granddaughter and visit. I'll go back for her baby sister's birth a week or two later (son and wife are buying me a plane ticket). Then there's Thanksgiving. But I need to get some days in and can't always be on Aesop (Frontline).


mrsd5 is offline   Reply With Quote

YayaSub YayaSub is offline
 
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 80
Junior Member

YayaSub
 
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 80
Junior Member

Old 11-02-2017, 07:02 AM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #2

Several times a day I get a message that it can't connect to the internet. I am still getting job notifications, but I suspect not all of them.
YayaSub is offline   Reply With Quote
Tapdancesub Tapdancesub is offline
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 329
Full Member

Tapdancesub
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 329
Full Member

Old 11-02-2017, 12:03 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #3

I don't use jobulator, but Aesop has been slow to load and glitchy the past 2 days.
Tapdancesub is offline   Reply With Quote
sunshine97 sunshine97 is offline
 
Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
New Member

sunshine97
 
Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
New Member

Old 11-02-2017, 02:25 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #4

I use the substitute alert app. Cheaper and much more effective
sunshine97 is offline   Reply With Quote
NJSubteacher NJSubteacher is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

NJSubteacher
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member
Sub Alert App Also Having problems
Old 11-05-2017, 05:12 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #5

I have Sub Alert and they also claim that Frontline -AESOP has been having issues with their back servers lately (which is supposedly what allows all these job apps to function correctly with Aesop). I believe them because the guys behind this app seem very nice and straight forward with me regarding all the AESOP ISSUES this year. Right now, Sub Alert does not show my list of scheduled jobs because of Frontline's back server issue.

However, I am still seeing jobs show up on the app, but the notification time has been delayed a great deal to the point where it is much faster to just check aesop directly and grab jobs directly from there. Meaning jobs are appearing on Aesop about 5-10 min before appearing on my app (sometimes). I am sure this is the same issue with Jobulator and the other sub apps. Once these back server issues are resolved on Frontline's end, hopefully these apps will work better. But this time of year when it gets busy, these apps are probably just a waste of money anyway.


NJSubteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
lisajohnljc lisajohnljc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

lisajohnljc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member
Reg Sub Alert problems....I am frustrated....
Old 11-05-2017, 07:06 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #6

What the heck is going on with SubAlert app??
I too contacted them, and they sent me various excuses, every time blaming Frontline, Aesop and my district for the problems. But then I look on Aesop, and it's working fine.
I've had "connection error" messages, "Frontline refusal to connect" messages and yes, scheduled jobs not showing either for over a month now. And for the last two weeks, I've seen almost no jobs at all on the app.

Is it possible the districts are purposely messing with the back servers because they don't want us picking up jobs with outside apps anymore??

Last edited by lisajohnljc; 11-05-2017 at 07:21 PM..
lisajohnljc is offline   Reply With Quote
NJSubteacher NJSubteacher is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

NJSubteacher
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member
Dont think it is just Sub Alert
Old 11-06-2017, 05:14 AM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #7

I believe all the sub apps are having problems right now. I think if anything, Frontline may be doing this on purpose because they don't like these third party apps working on their behalf. This is just my opinion. I realize that all these apps CLAIM they have been approved by Aesop Frontline to work on their behalf, but not sure how true these claims are. Sub Alert does insist they are working closely with Frontline to resolve these issues. We will see.
NJSubteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
lisajohnljc lisajohnljc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

lisajohnljc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

Old 11-06-2017, 07:33 AM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #8

Hey thanks so much for responding here. I'm very glad to hear I'm not the only one dealing with this. And, I totally agree with your thoughts!

I've got at least 4 responses from "Subalert" to my inquiries about all the problems, and they blame Frontline every time.
But when I asked them point-blank, if our districts were purposely manipulating the servers to not respond to requests from Subalert, they say that's not the case at all, and that the problems are because Frontline's backend interface is down and that Frontline is working to fix it!

Seems fishy to me. I think they keep saying this because they don't want to lose all our subscription business! I've literally seen less than a handful of jobs over the last 4-6 weeks on both Subalert and Aesop! And last year I worked constantly and got all my jobs off SubAlert.

Are the districts messing with the interface on purpose, to keep us tied to Aesop, clicking endlessly for jobs that we don't really want but have no other option to take if we want to work! Anyone know anything I don't??

Last edited by lisajohnljc; 11-06-2017 at 08:05 AM..
lisajohnljc is offline   Reply With Quote
mrsd5's Avatar
mrsd5 mrsd5 is offline
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,897
Senior Member

mrsd5
 
mrsd5's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,897
Senior Member
Interesting questions and comments
Old 11-07-2017, 06:34 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #9

I'm lucky, because I work mostly in my old building, so I get requests. Basically, the teacher calls or messages to see if I'm available. If I am, they go directly to the secretary, who enters the job and assigns me. I get a notice or email that I have to acknowledge. In other cases, I'm a preferred sub, so at least I have a one to four hour time frame in which to accept or decline the job. But twice now I have had a week where nothing has popped up. So frustrating.
mrsd5 is offline   Reply With Quote
NJSubteacher NJSubteacher is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

NJSubteacher
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member
Sub Alert Working Perfect Again
Old 11-08-2017, 05:25 AM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #10

On my end, Sub Alert seems to be back up again and working very well. I can also see my scheduled assignments once again. If anyone else is still having issues, it may be your local school district blocking it perhaps. Is anyone else still having problems with the app?


NJSubteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
BecomingEduc BecomingEduc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
New Member

BecomingEduc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
New Member

Old 11-11-2017, 08:24 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #11

AESOP hasnít been running properly for me. Sometimes it doesnít load, sometimes it does but shows I have no jobs (when I do) and sometimes itís okay. Technology is amazing - when it works!
BecomingEduc is offline   Reply With Quote
lisajohnljc lisajohnljc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

lisajohnljc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

Old 11-24-2017, 06:26 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #12

Anyone else still having trouble with the SubAlert app???

Last week before break, I booked a job on it at my usual school. Two minutes later, it calls me again, with the same job offer. Confused, I tried booking it again but it wouldn't let me. Then I check on Aesop, and it showed no booked jobs at all!

I go to this school all the time so I immediately called the school secretary.
She hadn't done it, nor the teacher, and in fact they put me back in as soon as I talked to them.

I contacted the app developers next. They said they dont even have the ability to remove someone once a job has been booked. But someone, or something did it!

Anyone else having these kinds of problems???

I've been subbing for a long time, and have never had this happen before...

Last edited by lisajohnljc; 11-24-2017 at 06:47 PM..
lisajohnljc is offline   Reply With Quote
NJSubteacher NJSubteacher is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

NJSubteacher
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member
I think it is the App
Old 11-24-2017, 06:50 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #13

Something similar happened to me last month on that app, but it was the opposite situation. I think I was the one who knocked soneone else out of a job. It sent me an alert, I clicked on Book. It said job is no longer available, but I kept clicking book over and over again because it was still showing, and suddenly it said "Congrats you have booked this job". I think the app screwed up and knocked someone else out who booked it a second before me or at the same time as me. It is very possible no human actually knocked you out of that job and that the "system" just screwed up due to overload server traffic.
NJSubteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
lisajohnljc lisajohnljc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

lisajohnljc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member
Hmmm....maybe, but...
Old 11-24-2017, 07:08 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #14

Hmmm, maybe... but not so sure.

Did u ever ask the school what happened or why??

The app developers told me they don't even have the ability to remove someone once booked. But, these are also the guys who have been saying all year that the app's issues are all due to Frontlines problems...

How likely u think it is that the districts are interfering with who gets what jobs, purposely interfering with the app's booking process??
They definitely have priority sub. lists and who knows what else that us subs aren't privy to...

I've just had so many problems this year seeing and booking jobs, even at the school where I'm a preferred sub and they like me...
So frustrating....just would be nice to get some straight answers as to why it keeps happening and whether we can do anything about it or not...
lisajohnljc is offline   Reply With Quote
NJSubteacher NJSubteacher is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

NJSubteacher
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 556
Senior Member

Old 11-24-2017, 08:32 PM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #15

I actually feel the app deveopers have been fairly truthful with us. They told us last month they were having issues with the frontline server and were working to fix it. For the past couple of weeks, the app has been working perfectly fine for me.

Yes, I have seen a lot less jobs popping up this year in general and also have seen a lot more new subs as well ,adding to the competition, which has nothing to do with the app. I may try and apply to a 3rd district near me if it continues. I suggest doing the same thing if you are seeing fewer jobs. Do not take it personally. I know in my districts, subs have been saying the same thing. However, if you are still having problems with the app syncing to your frontline account, then there is definitely something else going on such as your district interfering with Frontline. All these apps do are constantly check your aesop account every 60 seconds, and alert you of any new jobs if you are in a strong wifi or 4G data area. A sub friend of mine has an Iphone and I have a newer Samsung, and it seems I do get alerts slightly faster than he does. So, it also can also be a phone compatability issue, especially with older phones.
NJSubteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
lisajohnljc lisajohnljc is offline
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member

lisajohnljc
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
New Member
Hey thanks NJ, and I totally agree...
Old 11-26-2017, 08:00 AM
 
Clip to ScrapBook #16

Hey thanks NJ, and I totally agree!

I do believe the developers who have told me the same thing. They can only show us jobs that are posted by our district in the first place. And they don't have the ability to remove us from a job once we book it.

And my phone is new, and my internet is good.
So the connection issues are definitely coming from either the district and or Frontline. Like u said, they probably don't want us using outside apps. I think they want to control who gets what jobs, and where, and when. And it looks like they're winning the game this year!

Your'e also right about seeing a lot more new subs too! Last week, a new girl was checking in before me, while myself and other subs who have been going to this school for years have been getting fewer jobs there.

It's unfortunate though. And I can't keep relying on the school secretary who likes me to keep overriding the system and put me back in when it boots me. They don't have the time time to keep putting out my "sub fires", and I'm tired of asking them to!

NOTE:
I actually did contact Frontline, just to see what they have to say about all the problems. If i ever get a response, I'll post it!
lisajohnljc is offline   Reply With Quote

Join the conversation! Post as a guest or become a member today. New members welcome!

Reply

 

>
Substitute Teachers
Thread Tools




Sign Up Now

Sign Up FREE | ProTeacher Help | BusyBoard

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 AM.

Copyright © 2017 ProTeacher®
For individual use only. Do not copy, reproduce or transmit.
source: www.proteacher.net