Help

BusyBoard

Opinions

>

NCteacher

Opinions
Old 11-01-2017, 06:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a practicing student in my class this semester doing her math and science methods. She failed it the first time around. She has been in my class for a month and a half. She does nothing. I know she's supposed to observe quite a bit, but she never offers to help kids or interact with them, except in e hallway when I'm trying to get them silent, or at recess. She has some chronic health issues, and I don't want to discriminate against her for those, but she leaves early at least once a week and has missed a day each week she has been with me except for two weeks when she was present every day. She must pass this class in order to be able to student teach. She taught a couple of lessons and the planning was really good, but the execution was not. She has no time management skills. The lesson that was supposed to take 45 minutes took over two hours. I am a newbie to Number Talks, but I thought they should be quick, and then move on. Hers are an hour. The last time she did one, she called in the same 5 students over and over while the other 21 sat.

I sent her professor an email today and told her I was thinking of speaking to my student about the realities of teaching- you just can't miss that much school. She doesn't realize that where we are, she can't just leave when she feels sick. She has to find a sub and write the sub plans, have everything copied and ready to go when the sub walks in. In my email, I told her I understood that she has no control over her chronic health issues (I do not know what they are), but that teaching in a public school may not be for her. I know some of you suffer with chronic health issues- if you don't mind sharing-how do you handle that when you can't come in frequently? Is there a special leave granted to you with a doxtor's note?