Help

The Job Search

Teach for America

>

Nolite

Teach for America
Old 11-02-2017, 08:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm not sure if this is the right board for this, but it seemed the most logical! I'm finishing up a few liberal arts credits I need before starting my MAT program in the Spring. I'm 43, and a career changer. I do have a bachelor's in business administration (my background is sales management). I just finished reading a book about the history of teaching in America, which got me thinking about Teach for America again - it has several pros and cons, and some of the cons are real deal breakers. I was wondering if anyone had experience with the program and might be able to answer some questions for me that I couldn't find the answers to online.

First - at 43, would I be the grandma in the group? How common are older people in this organization?

Second - how flexible are assignments? The area I live in is one that has a teacher shortage, and one that TFA places teachers in. My husband and I have roots in this community; our older son lives nearby, our younger son will be starting high school next year, and my husband has a great job in the area. Not to mention, all the teachers in my family and among my friends are here, which is a support network I will rely on heavily! I have absolutely no issue with a commute to another district, but I do not want to be placed in a school that would require a move. How much say would I have over that as a TFA teacher?

TIA for any insight you can offer!

-J

Nolite is offline   Reply With Quote

cattleya

Old 11-13-2017, 09:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am not sure why you would join Teach for America if you are in an area where there is a teacher shortage, and would likely be able to get a job without them where you live.