Help

The VENT

Babying the SPED kids

>

NewCAteacher

Babying the SPED kids
Old 11-08-2017, 06:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a SPED teacher and I am so done with this. I firmly believe that children, even those with disabilities, KNOW when there is little to no expectation of them and will act accordingly. Now this doesn't mean that we always hold a child with oppositional defiance to the same expectation as a GATE student. That would be comparing apples to oranges. But this whole blaming the disability for all behaviors/having little to no expectation of SPED kids has got to stop!!!!

NewCAteacher is online now   Reply With Quote

TheTrunch

Totally Agree
Old 11-08-2017, 06:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It's horrible to have no expectations or consequences for kids. It really does seem to be a trend to expect almost nothing out of kids. With the 'flexible seating' now comes half a class that can't sit down. I've never seen this in 30 years. Suddenly, somebody who wanted to sell new classroom furniture came up with the idea kids can't sit. Voila, kids can't sit.

Either there is a horrible trend gone wrong or something has caused a fourth of children to have significant problems. I don't know?
TheTrunch is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 11-08-2017, 07:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

And the behaviors hear kids are allowed to get away with principals (at least mine) wonít discipline kids with IEPís is insane. I canít tell you how many violent kids we have who are allowed to be violent because they have an IEP. Itís scary.

The hand holding, spoon feeding and learned helplessness doesnít do anyone any good.
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

eeza

blaming the disability
Old 11-08-2017, 07:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4