First Grade

How to improve sight word recognition

>

AETeach90

How to improve sight word recognition
Old 11-13-2017, 07:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi all!
I am a senior intern in a first grade classroom this year. We have to complete a Student Impact Study and would greatly appreciate some ideas! My subject is in phonics and it is "improvement in sight word recognition". I have gotten a few ideas off of Pinterest, but would like some ideas from teachers. I will be working with a small group of students while conducting this study!

Thanks in advance for all of the suggestions!

AETeach90 is offline   Reply With Quote

Lillybabe

Old 11-14-2017, 03:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Maybe I am misunderstanding the category you're working in... but I don't feel like sight words fall under phonics instruction. Sight words are more fluency instruction. By definition students aren't able to sound them out and they are more of a whole language reading approach versus a phonics approach. Of course some people use a balanced approach which has both. As far as helping kids recognize them my advice would be to focus only on sight words that can't actually be decoded or follow very unusual rules (are, the, their, said, where, etc.) versus ones that are decodable (this, is, we, me, then, etc.). Additionally, I'd only focus on 3-5 at most per week. How many they can learn in a week and actually retain depends on the student. Finally, I'd make it as fun and multisensory as possible. Get them moving, playing games, etc.
Lillybabe is offline   Reply With Quote

MrsWok

Old 11-14-2017, 06:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

My favorite sight word interventions are sentence strips. I take them directly from our curriculum (Fundations) and type them out. Sight words are in red to let kids know that they cannot tap them out. Decodable words are in black. They read the sentences with a teacher. This helps the children read the words in context, which is ultimately the goal!