Kindergarten

Coats, hats and mittens, oh my!

>

Lovingkindie

Lovingkindie

Coats, hats and mittens, oh my!
Old 12-06-2017, 05:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching kindergarten. Now that the weather is getting colder we are dealing with winter gear for recess and coming and going. Today I had a parent call the AP about me because her son came home without his coat. I had to call her and she went on about how her son has been sick, etc. We found his coat in the lost and found. I think he had a sweatshirt on and the day was in the 40s. so it didn't register that he was leaving without a coat. Also some kids typically do not wear coats or at least come in without them on a daily basis. It is December but we haven't hit the frigid weather yet. We have a huge lost and found and they grab a coat for recess if needed.

Another parent left me a pretty angry message about his son's lost hat and gloves.

What are strategies for keeping track of all of this? I try to make sure each child has all of their gear at dismissal but with 23 kids I often overlook something. We have lockers in the hallway where they store their gear.

I can't imagine calling my child's teacher and being angry about a lost hat.

Thanks is advance for any advice!

anna

Old 12-06-2017, 08:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I do not allow my students to take off and put down anything they choose to wear to the playground. If they get hot and want to take off the jacket,they tie it around their waist. A lost hat and gloves is not my responsibility at all and I would just say "I am sorry that happened."
anna is online now   Reply With Quote

StellaBulldog

Old 12-07-2017, 06:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3