Help

Middle School/Jr High (6-8)

8th Grade Apathy

>

puzzle1mom

8th Grade Apathy
Old 12-13-2017, 03:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching middle school math after 20 years in the elementary classroom. I am teaching the same 8th grade curriculum to 8th grade and 7th grade accelerated. 80% of the students in my 8th grade have very poor assessment grades; they do their classwork which is all online and includes assistance if needed. I also get VERY low participation from this particular class, especially as compared to my 7th graders. I offer after school math help weekly, and almost all the students who show up are 7th grade. I get maybe 2 or 3 from 8th each week, if that. Our 8th grade has 4 math levels - mine (which is the lowest), pre-algebra, algebra, and geometry. Essentially, the 8th graders I have are the lowest level in the grade. Several of them are behavior problems - not awful, but disruptive and off task on a regular basis - and a few are severely below grade level across the board. I'm in a Catholic K-8 school and the middle school students are the only ones grouped by ability for their classes, so I am not used to teaching a class like this. I'm so frustrated and feel like I'm whacking my head into a wall with them every day. The Pearson Realize series that we use has very few resources for reteaching and remediation which is super frustrating, so I am always searching online for additional resources. I am sure that a lot of this is due to their low level and the fact that they are all one foot out the door already. I just needed to vent and hear from others who have experienced the same.

Thanks!!!

puzzle1mom is offline   Reply With Quote

dutchgirl

Old 12-15-2017, 01:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2