Help

Kindergarten

End of the Year Goals

>

Lillybabe

End of the Year Goals
Old 12-17-2017, 03:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hey, so this is my first year in kindergarten. I know how to teach reading and did three years with Title I helping struggling readers. The issue I am running into is what should my students know by the end of the year? I have a student people are already trying to strong arm me into retaining. He's the second oldest in my class (only student older was retained) and has a December birthday. He has very little home support and had extreme behaviors in prek. He was sent home many days but has had no office visits this year. I feel he's making great progress and should be ready for first grade. However, what do my kids need to know by the end of the year? The common core standards are not very specific. For example they mention grade level decoding and sight word skills but they don't say how many sight words or what they should be able to decode. Any resources to finding this out? If I push for not retaining or even go along with retaining I'd like something to support that decision. Ideally, I'd like several resources that have clear guidelines on what a child in kindergarten should be able to do by the end of the year. As of last week all of my class knows all of their letter names, can write their first name, can identify numbers 1-20, and they all know most of their letter sounds (missing 4-6 depending on the kid). Everyone can rote count to 20 (that's all my curriculum has covered so far), 1-to-1 count to 20, mostly write numbers 1-20 (still some reversals and mix ups), and can do beginning addition and subtraction with support.

Lillybabe is offline   Reply With Quote

Sbkangas5

Old 12-20-2017, 08:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2